Gold/silver may have a correction coming

Gold has broken $1500, and silver is almost at $45. While the rally in silver has been more than amazing, the rally in gold is quite within its normal trading range.

I have been reading Cara’s trading blog at caracommunity.com, and Bob Hoye’s podcast on Howestreet.com every Friday. I am aware that rally of silver should be “exhausted” long time ago, but one needs to have his own opinion. The latest exhaustion signal from Bob Hoye should be at the end of this week at the latest. However, I think the market may be exuberant slightly longer than that.

Gold/silver have a tendency to make a parabolic top. In fact, I almost want to say that without a parabolic top, it is simply not a top. I would never go short on this market (or at least not yet). At every market, one must decide on the bias (bullish or bearish) first, and then only move between cash & long/short (depending on the bias). I think those advertisement about swing trading that goes between long/short is really a myth. For most normal human traders, that is just a fast ticket to poverty, not to the riches.

The next correction in silver & precious metal mining stocks may be quite big. I think a minimum of 20% is almost definitely in the cards. I wouldn’t rule out a 30+% fall. However, the fall will be respected to the peak prices, and we still don’t know what the peak prices will be achieved. I am looking for silver to possibly fall to low $30 range. Based on the ratio of the last rally (from $17.35 to $31.21), and the start of the current rally from $26.38, I think it’s possible for silver to go to $47.45. If silver price exceeds $47.45, then I think the coming correction may be more extended in time to wash out the excess in bullishness. I think $50 is possible, but I am not counting on it.

While silver is very extended, mining stocks in general are not. I would think that the correction in mining stocks would be less than silver, but I could be wrong. I would be looking for GDX to pull back to low 50 at the maximum.

For gold, I think the pullback could be from $1150 to $1250. I would deploy my capital starting at around $1250. I know all the shorts out there think that gold/silver are in the final stage of bubble. But I believe the next wave is the 2nd minor wave of 3rd major wave. Yes, it’s going to be painful when it falls, but when we reach 3rd of 3rd major wave, it’s when majority of shorts are literally destroyed. Frankly, I don’t know why anyone wants to be short in this market. For the sake of your own wealth, please don’t. But if you’d like to add to my wealth, you could go ahead.

The other phenomenon that I see is that between gold/silver/mining stocks, the sync of waves has been somewhat broken. You will never see this at the final top. At the final final top, all of them should be synced up together to the top, with very small time lag. However, currently only silver is acting crazy. Given that, I’m also quite confident to state that this is simply not the final top.

I wrote an investment advice series back in 2006, advising people to buy silver Eagle and Warren Buffet’s company(BRKB). If you had followed my advice, you would have returned 260% on your silver, and 31% on BRKB since August of 2006.

Here are the entire series of My Investing Advice. The series is also listed on my Site Map at the upper left corner of every page on my site.

  1. My investing advice if you only have $10
  2. My investing advice if you only have $100
  3. My investing advice if you have $1000 to $10K
  4. My investing advice if you have $10K to $100K
  5. My investing advice if you have $100K to $1M

Best luck, Frugal at 1stMillionAt33.com

This entry was posted in Gold/Silver. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Gold/silver may have a correction coming

  1. niterainbow says:

    Inflation is on the rise, perhaps we have to wait for another couple of years before it will be in double digits again.

    Like

Leave a comment